Fingerprints

Fingerprint (n): an impression or mark made on a surface by a person’s fingertip, especially as used for identifying individuals from the unique pattern of whorls and lines

You know what else is like fingerprints. Every damn day of your life. Not one day is going to be the exact same as the previous. The leaves on the trees are not going to be the exact same as the prior day. The temperature will never match up perfectly with another day and all the activities included. All the emotions and thoughts you have will never be the same as they are at that very moment. And honestly that kind of sucks.

For example, I’m currently on a bus riding 165 miles from Ohio to Pennsylvania to see Fallingwater (for those of you who do not know what Fallingwater is, I will let you looking it up in all that free time of yours instead of spoiling it for you!) and it is peak season for the leaves changing. Let me just say it’s absolutely breath taking. The rolling hills covered in vibrant fall colors and the small streams that run in between and the sky is a dark grey. (Mentally preparing for the rain.) It’s amazing. And I’m sitting here thinking about how much I just want to tell our bus driver to stop so I can take a picture. However, at that point it would probably be best for me to walk. But even if I were to drive here a different day it’s never going to be the same images I am seeing now and I’m just going to have to rely on my own memories.

Anywho… I will get to my point. Do you know how many moments like this there are? Where you just want to hit pause so you can take it all in. I know I have a lot some are the simplest things too and they are never going to be the exact same as the first time they happened. So stop taking advantage of the little things it will never be the same the second time around.

Leave a comment